10 Interesting the United Kingdom Facts

Thursday, December 15th 2016. | Countries

Let us get the complete information about a sovereign country located in Western Europe on the United Kingdom Facts. People often call the country as Britain or simply UK. The official name is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The country consists of the island of Great Britain, parts of island of Irelands and various small islands.

The United Kingdom Facts 1: the land border

The only land border of United Kingdom is shared between Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland. The remaining is bounded by Atlantic Ocean. The south-west is Celtic Sea. The south is English Channel. The east part is North Sea.

The United Kingdom Facts 2: the Irish Sea

The Great Britain and Ireland are connected through the Irish Sea.

the united kingdom facts

the united kingdom facts

The United Kingdom Facts 3: the size of the country

The country covers the area of 93,600 square miles or 242,500 square km. In Europe, it takes the record as the 11th largest country. In the world, it is ranked as the 78th largest state by area.

The United Kingdom Facts 4: the population

The people in United Kingdom are 65.1 million individuals. It is the fourth most populous country in European Union.

facts about the united kingdom

facts about the united kingdom

The United Kingdom Facts 5: government

United Kingdom has the parliamentary system of government with constitutional monarchy. Queen Elizabeth II has been the monarch of United Kingdom since February 6, 1952.

The United Kingdom Facts 6: London

London is inhabited by 10.3 million people. This capital city is the center of finance and politics. Find facts about Elizabeth II here.

elizabeth ii

elizabeth ii

The United Kingdom Facts 7: other major cities in UK

Leeds, Manchester, Liverpool, Glasgow and Birmingham are the other primary cities in United Kingdom.

The United Kingdom Facts 8: the countries in UK

Northern Ireland, Wales, Scotland and England are included as the four countries in United Kingdom. Belfast is the capital of Northern Ireland. Cardiff and Edinburgh are the capital of Wales and Scotland respectively. Based on the Acts of Union of 1536 and 1542, the Kingdom of England annexed Wales. See facts about the Tudor Monarchs here.

the Tudor Monarchs Facts

the Tudor Monarchs Facts

The United Kingdom Facts 9: the Crown Dependencies

The Crown Dependencies include Bailiwick of Jersey, Bailiwick of Guernsey and Isle of Man.

The United Kingdom Facts 10: influence of United Kingdom

United Kingdom is considered as an influential state in the world, which can be seen from its legal system, culture and language.  It has 14 Overseas Territories. In the past, UK was called as the largest empire during its peak in 1920s.

the united kingdom

the united kingdom

Are you wondered reading facts about the United Kingdom?


tags: ,